iPhone 8 and iPhone X: Everything You Need to Know

After months of rumours and speculation, Apple finally launched the newest additions to the iPhone range at a major event in California last night. While pundits initially predicted that the iPhone 8 would be the main announcement, Apple unveiled a grand total of three new smartphones at the event — iPhone 8, iPhone 8 Plus, and iPhone X.

There are a lot of features to cover, so let’s dive straight in…

iPhone 8

The iPhone 8 and 8 Plus are essentially upgrades to the current iPhone 7 and 7 Plus range. Apple executive Phil Schiller said the device “improves on everything we love about the iPhone”.

At a glance, the design of the new release is similar to its predecessor. The actual display sizes remain unchanged from the iPhone 7 and 7 Plus — 4.7” and 5.5” respectively. However, there are some notable upgrades. Apple claims the device has the most durable glass ever used in a smartphone, whilst being both water and dust resistant. It will also be available in a new gold finish, as well as silver and space grey.

In terms of overall performance, the iPhone 8 includes an A11 bionic chip. According to Apple, it is “the most powerful and smartest chip ever in a smartphone.” This will also be the first iPhone to feature wireless charging.

Now on to the fun part — the camera. Both the iPhone 8 and the iPhone 8 Plus will feature a 12-megapixel camera with a larger and faster sensor, a new colour filter and deeper pixels. Apple claims the new camera delivers “the highest quality video capture ever in a smartphone” with better video stabilisation and 4K video up to 60fps. The iPhone 8 Plus also features a dual-lens camera  much like the iPhone 7 Plus— with a new Portrait Lighting feature.

The iPhone 8 and iPhone 8 Plus will be available to pre-order on September 15.

[x_line style=”border-top: 4px dotted #26B9DA;”]

iPhone X

The iPhone X — pronounced iPhone 10 — is the 10th-anniversary edition of the iPhone. Apple CEO Tim Cook said the device is a “new step forward for iPhone” that will “set the path for technology for the next decade”.

The device’s most standout feature is its 5.8” edge-to-edge screen that covers the entire front. The super retina display features HDR support in Dolby Vision and HDR10 with True Tone technology. To make way for such a monumental screen, Apple sacrificed the home button — a rather controversial decision — and Touch ID along with it. 3D facial recognition software will now be used to unlock the device and Apple Pay.

Like the iPhone 8 Plus, the iPhone X will feature a 12-megapixel dual-lens camera with Portrait mode, Portrait Lighting and 4K video up to 60 fps. The upgraded 7-megapixel front camera will also include Portrait mode, Portrait Lighting and 3D tracking.

As Apple’s premium smartphone, the iPhone X will come with a hefty price tag. Apple will release two versions: a 64GB version starting at £999 and a 256GB version starting £1,149. It will be available for pre-order on October 27.

[x_line style=”border-top: 4px dotted #26B9DA;”]

What are your thoughts on the new additions to the iPhone range? Will you be investing in an iPhone 8 or an iPhone X?

In the meantime, find out how to shoot high-quality video content on your current smartphone with these top tips!

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.